REVIEW – When the Heart Heals by Simone Beaudelaire

This is a decade long love romance book between Alyssa and Andrew. That is all I am going to say about the plot. This book is a wonderful example of how family can affect the way people view love, trust love, and require love. It is about how love shows no boundaries. I was able to connect with the characters however, there were times that scenes were cut short and I was confused about how the author transitioned from one point to the other. A character must have more than one short moment to decide to be in love. Furthermore, it isn’t a choice and I think that is where Beaudelaire fell short. I wanted more on a few scenes to have compassion. I didn’t feel anything in those abrupt moments and that was disappointing. The secondary characters were well written but there were too many. I felt like the author was trying to cram too many other themes into the ending and I lost a bit of interest towards the end. This book is well written grammatically and was a nice quick read for a lazy day. I would recommend this book to mature audiences because of the few steamy sex scenes however there are good lessons to be learned from this book, too so if there was a way to pull those few sex scenes, this would be a great YA book.

Leave a Reply

